slowest knitter EVER

I finished a thing! It only took me about 8-9 months! The sad thing is, it took me that long to finish a sweater for Hobbit. Who is not a super-tall human. And it was with bulky yarn. Isn’t that supposed to be fast to knit?

latte coat frontTechnically, I never actually finished it. There were supposed to be pockets, but I literally ran out of yarn. I didn’t block it (it’s acrylic anyway, so it’s not like that would do much), and I was supposed to sew on some buttons, but figured that pushing buttons through those tiny little eyelet buttonholes while trying to restrain a toddler was probably a lost cause. Anyway.

latte coat backThe yarn was Lion Brand Hometown USA, which I originally got from a cousin who had tried knitting and decided it was too physically hard on her hands. There were two skeins of the cream and one skein of the brown, and I figured it would be good colors for something boy. It looked like there would be enough yardage, based on what I read on Ravelry, so I went for it. And wow, was I wrong on the yardage. I actually had to go back to the store twice to buy more of the cream, and the last time I went back for more, there wasn’t any. The brown stripes on the sleeves were out of necessity, just to get enough length to finish. (And as you can see on the left side, I didn’t have quite enough of that either.) I also discovered that knitting super-bulky yarn isn’t that fun for my hands, either. I guess it’s because I knit pretty tightly, but it hurt. So I had to keep picking it up and putting it down and occasionally knitting another project instead.

The good news is, since I knit a larger size, even though it’s spring now and he probably won’t need this sweater, it’ll probably still fit him in the fall. The bad news is, I’m pretty sure he hates it. I tried to get it on him just long enough for a photoshoot, and these were the best pictures I was able to get:

nooooo This one was while yelling “nooooooo” and reaching out so I’d pull this horrendous thing off of him.

 

 

 

 

bye latte coatAnd if he looks happier here, it’s because he was managing to shrug it off himself. Sorry for the blur. I blame toddler physics– the kiddo in motion tends to stay in motion until an outside force acts on him and forces him to take a nap or something.

Oh well… I’ll try again in the fall. And if he still hates it, maybe Padawan will wear it? I hope so, because as long as this took me, it’s sad to think that it might have been a complete waste of time.

 

7 thoughts on “slowest knitter EVER

  1. It’s cute and a perfect spring/autumn jacket, hopefully Hobbit comes around. I once sewed sweaters for my kids, the oldest (5 at the time) liked his but my youngest (2) refused to even try hers on, and cried whenever I suggested she’d wear. But then six months later she pulled it out herself and has wore it regularly (it did help that it was quite big so she didn’t outgrow it).

    Like

  2. Ahh, that lovely feeling of completion! Sometimes all the better the longer it took, am I right? 🙂 And great work figuring out how to work around your yarn situation! Of course, uncooperative toddlers don’t help… hopefully the Hobbit will take to his new sweater soon, or his little brother will be a little more enthusiastic!

    Cheers,
    Shannon

    Like

  3. awww, the love!! You can just never predict what they are going to take a shine too… it could be that he suddenly takes it out of his drawer on his own accord, falls in love, and will wear nothing else! It does look really cute, and beautifully made; and you’ll soon have another little one who can wear it, in any case! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

