Sewing for Boys: a birthday shirt for Hobbit

IMG_3926Okay, seriously…how the heck is my little boy a year old already? His birthday was last week, and so my main project this month was to make him a new little shirt to wear for that day.

The pattern is the Classic Oxford by Peekaboo Pattern Shop. I seriously wish I’d known about this site about 18 months ago, because they have several women’s knit patterns that have the option of buying a maternity and/or nursing add-on, and they’re all pretty cute in both the pregnant and non-pregnant versions. But they also have cute patterns for boys, which are notoriously hard to find. I strongly suspect I’ll be revisiting this shop for shorts and hoodies and the like.

 

IMG_3968I sewed up the 18 month size, out of some fabric I’d bought on sale shortly before he was born. It was a rather timely make as far as characters go, too! Though I haven’t seen Finding Dory yet, and probably won’t make it to the theater #becausehobbit. Oh well, that’s what DVDs are for, right? As you can see, this fits him pretty well. Which is a huge relief, after the sizing issues I’ve had sewing up big 4 baby patterns. (I’m still sad that the Star Wars shirt ended up so unwearably wonky in sizing.)

I was pleased with the directions overall, too. There was one point with the yoke where I just could not make heads or tails of how the instructions wanted me to do it, but I figured out an alternative that worked just as well and still left everything clean on the inside. I particularly liked how the collar stand worked out, because she added some extra length to the pattern and you had to line it up by stitching to the edge, not anything too fiddly.

IMG_3945I do kind of wish that I’d had thread that matched better instead of the navy blue. And the buttons were just regular shirt buttons raided from a giant jar that my grandmother gave me when she was downsizing to move. But I guess that’s ok, because boy clothes are more suited to just regular old shirt buttons. I did do two pockets instead of one, since the print is a little more reminiscent of a Hawaiian shirt, and was very happy with how the print placement turned out for those! So hopefully he’ll get several more wears out of this before he outgrows it. But at least I can always do the unbuttoned layered shirt thing to take this one into the fall. The pattern does go up to sizing for approximately 12 years old, so I’ll definitely be getting more use out of this pattern. Especially because it also has cutting layout hints for recycling men’s shirts for it, and I’ve already saved a worn out work shirt or two of Doug’s– I find the idea of him wearing shirts made from his daddy’s shirts adorable!

IMG_3938
One last closing shot. Aside from this, the bulk of my sewing this month has been altering a bridesmaid dress for my sister in law. But that’s almost done now. So I’ll wrap this up so I can finally cut out something for me!

4 thoughts on “Sewing for Boys: a birthday shirt for Hobbit

  1. This is so cute! He’s such a sweet little guy- always love seeing photos of him pop up on IG. Good to know about Peekaboo Patterns. I’ve had a hard time finding cute patterns to make for my nephew. And it’s so cool that they tell you how to upcycle men’s shirts! What a great idea!

    Like

  2. What a sweetie! Reminds me of when my Tim was that age and I used to make little shorts/shirt sets for him too. Kiddies’ clothes are such fun, hardly use any fabric and of course they look adorable in everything! Your little boy looks so cute in his new birthday shirt 🙂

    Like

  3. How cute! Did you get stuck on step #32 too…where you’re supposed to somehow bring the ends of the collar stand together…. Apart from that, I enjoyed making a shirt for my little one using this pattern. You did a great job.

    Like

Leave a Reply

