la vie en rose

Appleton DressSo, finishing a red dress around the middle of February– how cliche is that? I don’t even like Valentine’s Day! But I wanted to try this pattern out as a winter dress, and the stashed fabric that was the best fit just happened to fall into this color scheme. So walking stereotype it is.

The pattern is the Appleton dress, from Cashmerette Patterns. Look at me, jumping on a bandwagon before it’s been long gone for once! I’ll admit that super easy nursing access was my main motivation. I’m assuming it will be ok, but I haven’t field-tested that yet. I made the smallest size that the pattern offered, so I’m not sure how well it will work if/when I lose those last 5 or so pounds, but I guess the beauty of a wrap dress is that it’s adjustable, right?

It’s a fairly simple pattern, though making it wasn’t entirely without issues. For one thing, I somehow managed to reverse the direction it was supposed to wrap in. Let’s blame sleep deprivation for that one. But I just reversed everything else and it worked out fine. Also, I’ve come to the conclusion that my sewing machine just absolutely hates ITY knits. You probably shouldn’t look too closely at the stitching around the neckline. And I had to do a lot of experimenting to come up with a stitch combo that had a minimum of skipping and still gave me the needed stretch for the hems. Scraps of pattern tracing paper ended up being the key to success. Saving up for a coverstitch machine is sounding better and better!

IMG_3491The one adjustment I made to this pattern was lengthening the sleeve to match up with the largest size. The resulting length is still a bit shorter than I’d prefer, even with the narrow hem, so I’ll need to add more if I make a long-sleeved version again. I was also a little disappointed with the width of the under wrap. The bodice is fine, but visions of skirt-related wardrobe malfunctions have been dancing in my head since I first tried it on! So, for my own peace of mind, I’m securing it on the inside with a piece of elastic sewn to the inside seam, with a snap on the other end to attach it to the inner skirt piece. Hopefully that will be enough to keep me from flashing anyone when the wind kicks up. (I did take some pictures, but every single one of them turned out blurry. Ugh.)

IMG_3469(Baby boy was getting fussy, so this was the point in the photoshoot where I had to pick him up to calm him down.) I’m not 100% sure how I feel about this fabric pairing with it. The ITY works great, stitching issues aside. It’s really more the print, and specifically how it looks on me. I can’t quite shake the fear that it looks a little matronly, which is certainly not how I want to feel when my birthday is a couple of weeks away! Admittedly, this brick/peachy-coral/grey color scheme is almost the opposite of the blue-green everything that usually catches my eye. And the print is essentially giant roses, which are also not the sort of floral that I usually go for. This was one of the four “coupons” pieces I brought back from Paris about a year and a half ago, and even then, I was questioning what was attracting me to it so strongly. I’d just gone through the whole Wardrobe Architect challenge, and made my color palettes, and this just mostly doesn’t fit with that. Maybe Paris was messing with my head? But it came home with me nonetheless. And at least it didn’t linger too long in my stash, at least by my standards.

I really hope I have a finished project that I feel better about before too long. It really feels like I’ve had more ambivalence than hits lately. It’s a little frustrating.

14 thoughts on “la vie en rose

  1. gilliancrafts

    I don’t think this looks matronly at all! The deep v-neck is really pretty on you. Hope it works well for nursing! (I hear you on the run of ambivalence though – I’m feeling the same way!)

    Like

  2. I think it looks good on you, but I know how hard it is to get over your own feelings about a project. I will say, if it was a coincidence or planned, that I think you benefit from having the darker colours around your neck and face rather than the lighter ones. The fit is great and flattering on you.

    Like

  3. I like it! and I reckon you should wear more red and pink. You look great in warmer colours. And I really love the picture of you cuddling your son … so sweet!! takes me back to when my children were tiny (nostalgic sigh) πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. I have been feeling a need to add some warmer colors to my closet, but I’m leaning more towards coral and gold. Pink is honestly one of my least favorite colors, which is why this fabric is so unusual for me! Though it does look a little more peachy than pink.

      Like

  4. Pingback: back in black (with quasi-tutorial) | sew adagio

Leave a Reply

