this year’s sewing, revisited

Now that I’ve been using some of these baby-related things for several weeks, I figured it would be a good time to look back at the things I’ve made this year, and see how they’re working out in the real world. If you follow me on Instagram, I apologize that you’ve seen some of these photos before, but it’s the only way I can actually show these right now.

IMG_20150705_082632First off, the maternity clothes that I made hoping they’d also work after. I haven’t had a chance to try out the Megan Nielsen top again, because it is way too hot and humid for polyester right now. But the two maxi-dresses (pictured here, and the solid black one), and the tie-dyed maxi skirt are all working out pretty well. There are things I do wish were a little different about each one. The yoga-style waistband on the skirt was a bit too wide even when I was pregnant, and I have to fold it over pretty far now. But it does fit without falling down, which was my main goal. This blue dress still feels a bit wide in the upper back, and I am debating whether to add a faux back seam just to take in some of that extra fullness–I’d hate for a print this lovely to feel frumpy! As for the black dress, the fit is still really good, even minus the bump. But I do need to hem it a little shorter. It was on the verge of too long before, and now I have to be really careful to avoid stepping on it when I walk. I just haven’t had the time to do so yet. On the plus side, the zipper nursing access, though not perfect, functions pretty well.

If you have no interest in reading about the more baby-specific makes, here’s a good place to stop! Otherwise, moving on to…

IMG_20150804_081217…the gender-reveal outfit! Along with Hobbit’s very skeptical expression. He’s not a small baby by any means–he’s only 6 1/2 weeks old, and we’ve already had to take the newborn insert out of his car seat, and several of his 0-3 month sized clothes are beginning to feel a little tight when snapping them closed. I say that to show just how ridiculously oversized this is on him! I think I may have misread the pattern. I thought it was a 0-3 month size, but I’m looking at the sizing chart on the website, and it looks like this may be more of a 6 month size. Which leaves me wondering if I should go back and add some length to the legs, since these are shorts and that would mean he won’t fit into these well until it’s cold. The thought of him not being able to wear it at all is mildly heartbreaking, and I do still have some of this denim left. But would that look dumb to have that seam there?

Next up: the diapers.
20150729_095433He’s modeling the smallest of the three sizes here. For the most part, they’re working out really well so far– we’ve been having to do laundry at least every other day because of them, but we haven’t had to buy a single diaper yet. (We were given some disposables at the shower, and have been using those occasionally, but for the most part, it’s been almost exclusively the sewn ones since I was recovered enough to start taking more stairs around week 3.)

At the risk of being TMI, for the most part, the messes have been contained well. I think we’ve had maybe 3-4 blowouts the whole time so far–granted, I try to change him pretty quickly as needed, but still. The kid really does eat like a hobbit (i.e. a LOT), so I suspect we’d have had a lot more otherwise. The only issue, other than frequent laundry, has been that the really wet diapers soak through the front where the velcro stitching is. They’re not constructed in a way that I can really go back and waterproof those seams, but I think it will probably only be another month or two before he outgrows this size anyway, so it probably isn’t worth the effort. It’ll be interesting to see what happens when I switch to the next size with the pocket inserts and snaps. The bulk of these has also occasionally made it hard for him to wear certain shorts and pants, but honestly, it’s been so hot here that we usually have him in just a onesie or a t-shirt anyway, other than when we’re in the icebox that is my church.

I don’t have pictures of me using the next three things. I’ve gotten some good use out of the nursing cover, including one incident where I had to feed him in a restaurant parking lot. Suffice to say, I thought initially that maybe it was too big, but I’m glad it’s the size it is. I’m still getting the hang of maneuvering him underneath, but I’ll figure it out. The diaper bag is also working out well, though it’s usually packed very full due to the bulk of the cloth diapers. The matching changing mat does the job, though the snap stopped working after the first time I washed it. I guess I messed something up when setting it, but I just fold it up and stuff it in the bag. It’s easier to maneuver with one hand that way, anyway.

So the last thing I have to review at the moment is the play gym.
20150718_110525 As far as I can tell what’s going on in a baby’s head, he really seems to love it! We’ve been using it almost daily as a mat for his tummy time, and once he starts getting fussy, I’ll flip him over and let him bat at the felt animals. He’s gotten pretty good at aiming for the lowest-hanging ones, and has also figured out that he can make them all shake if he hits the hula hoop instead. I’ve tried him with a few other toys here and there, but so far, this one holds his attention the best. So I’d say it was well worth the effort to make it. Yay for Pinterest wins!

Otherwise, I have been sewing a little, though I’m pretty much limited to when I can get him to nap. I’ve finished a skirt, but haven’t had a chance to photograph it yet. I’ve been going through my wardrobe and weeding out things that won’t work anymore, including several me-mades, and am debating whether to do the same with my sewing patterns. I’m helping my best friend with a DragonCon costume, which is taking all of my sewing time at the moment. I’ve got multiple other quick projects lined up for myself, mostly of the refashion type, and am hoping that I can get to them soon! I’m also taking part in the #sewphotohop meme on Instagram, which has been fun so far. (I have my account there set to private, since I post a lot of baby pictures there these days, but if you want to follow me on there, just send a request. It hasn’t been hard to figure out who sews on there, I’m just trying to block random strangers from getting access to the kiddo! At least, as much as is possible when posting occasional pictures on something as public as a blog.)

10 thoughts on “this year’s sewing, revisited

  1. Thanks for this post – I'm starting my journey with all this and it's helpful to know what worked and what didn't. Also, I think adding legs to the denim outfit will look fine. πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. I was JUST thinking that I should contact you to find out how those diapers are working out. Eeerie how these things work out. I've started the search for a good diaper pattern and overall diaper set up…

    Like

Leave a Reply

