ooh, sparkly.

First of all, thanks for the advice offered on my last post! You gave me some great ideas for what to avoid (my entire wovens stash, I’m looking at you), and there were also some rather brilliant thoughts on how to make some of my ideas more nursing-friendly, and therefore able to be worn longer. Yay!

Today, I actually have two finished projects to show! Late last year and after I already knew about the pregnancy, I got lured into buying a couple of knits at Joann’s while there for an unrelated shopping trip, because I knew that the bulk of my knits stash were solid colors and I was craving some printed goodies. Also, look how sparkly they are! My original intent was to get these done in time to wear for Christmas, but due to all the sickness issues, that obviously didn’t happen. So I decided to get these sewn up quickly. I need some color in my extremely pared-down winter wardrobe anyway.

McCall's 6084The cardigan is McCall’s 6084, and the top is Simplicity 2852. For the cardigan, I didn’t really change much of anything, other than add a little length to the sleeves to accommodate my monkey arms. I do that pretty much automatically for long-sleeved things now, but in this case, it looks like I actually didn’t need to! So I just gave it a bit of a wider hem on the sleeves than it called for.

The pattern claimed it could be made up in an hour. It took me a little longer than that. For one thing, this knit was really awful about clinging to itself, so it took me awhile to smooth it out enough that I could cut the pieces well! I did construct it completely in one sitting, and it especially helped that I was able to skip a couple of awkward-looking steps due to having a serger. But then I let it hang overnight so the hem could settle a bit before finishing that.

Simplicity 2852The top is one that I actually have made before, though I did view E for that one. That’s actually one of the shirts I already had that I’ve been continuing to wear anyway, and so far, it’s worked. I do think that I’ll have to toss that shirt at the end of this cold season, though, because the fabric is getting horribly pilled. Especially now that I’m wearing it at least once a week! I honestly didn’t think this view was one I’d ever sew, especially because I hated that bubble hem trend! The gathered front made it look like it would give me some room to grow, though.

I made the sleeveless view so I could wear this into the warmer weather. I even already had another cardigan that coordinates! I did make a couple of changes to the pattern to maternify it even further–besides leaving out the hem elastic, because ugh, I added 2″ width to the center front and 2″ to the hem. I like this a little longer, actually–if I was the type who wore leggings as pants, this would actually work! I think I’ll stick to wearing it with things that cover my lower half a little better, though.

Honestly, if I wore it with a belt to cinch it in, this top does have some non-maternity potential as well, I think. We’ll see whenever I get a waistline back. (Actually, now that I’m looking at this picture, it probably needs a belt somewhere anyway, doesn’t it? It really is kind of a sack. A sparkly sack in a fun print and a color scheme I love, but a sack nonetheless.) In the meantime, I had nothing but scraps left over from both of these pieces, so at least they didn’t live in the stash long! Between the two pieces, that’s 4.25 yards down.

IMG_2288The belt really highlights that the bump doesn’t want to hide anymore, doesn’t it? I have to keep reminding myself that it’s ok to not suck my stomach in for pictures! The more exciting thing is that we have the ultrasound scheduled for next week, so hopefully we’ll be finding out if the baby is a boy or a girl soon!

I think I also need to work on the camera setup–Doug’s been working hard to get the former office/library ready to turn into a nursery, so all the furniture there has been cleared out and the room is repainted. So these pictures are in the sewing-now-slash-computer room. (At least I still have one!) But I think I’ll have to experiment with where to put the tripod so I don’t look like such a giant next to the door. I already feel like I look big enough!

18 thoughts on “ooh, sparkly.

  1. Yeah, the tripod was as tall as I could make it. I'm thinking that next time, I might try setting it short and on my cutting table. The lighting in here is a lot nicer than I'd get if I waited for Doug to get home to take the pics!

    Like

  2. That's the idea– I've been trying very hard to stick with a color palette for this so I can make as many outfits out of whatever I have time to sew/have managed to acquire as possible!

    Like

  3. Oh Becky, congratulations! so sorry I missed the news before. I like your blue colour scheme for maternity; chic and very easy to mix and match, and easy to wear after your baby is born too πŸ™‚

    Like

  4. It's ok, it hasn't been that long since I made the announcement on here. And thank you! I figured I can't go wrong with blues, since that is one of my favorite colors. πŸ™‚

    Like

  5. Congratulations! I also missed the announcement since I've been a little…. out of it lately!

    I really like the tops – they're in great colours, but they're versatile and flattering! Awesome! I need to start thinking about projects like this – not because I'm pregnant! I have hardly any clothes that fit at the moment, so I definitely need a wardrobe update! Thanks for the inspiration! πŸ™‚

    Like

  6. I imagine that it's a very difficult task to sew for a changing body but you're doing great for the moment.

    Tip to avoid looking big: Try to raise the camera position by lengthening the trypod legs.

    Like

  7. I'll have to double-check next time I need to take a picture, but I think the tripod might have already been as tall as it would go! If all else fails, I can always resort to the living room–the lighting's not as good, but I have more space to work with on where to set the camera and all.

    Like

Leave a Reply

