administrative details

Just two quick things today:

1. Since the sidebar widget I had for my finished projects hasn’t let me add anything to the list since May (really, Blogger?!), I finally got fed up and reworked the page for what’s in my closet to take care of that. It’s just a big link list now, since trying to figure out how to add that many pictures would take forever, given that this is on the older side for sewing blogs. But I did at least organize it between what’s in my closet/what isn’t in my closet anymore/stuff I made for other people/etc.

Incidentally, I’m kind of surprised at how old certain items in my closet are now. Like that black military jacket I made back in 2006–whaaaat? I guess that explains why the lining is tearing. I’m also wondering how many of those current closet residents will get to stay around post-baby, but I guess it’s too early to worry about that.

https://sewadagio.files.wordpress.com/2015/01/dc0ec-stashbusting2bsewalong2bchallenge2bbutton2b2015.png

2. Since I ended up with significantly more yardage than I started last year with, and the Facebook group is really fun, I’m doing the Stashbusting Sewalong again. With all new themes and a bunch of new hosts! I didn’t volunteer to host a month because, you know, baby stuff, but best of luck to all you ladies who are participating! So here’s my pledge for this year, which I kept really simple:

I, Becky, will endeavor to end 2015 with less yarn and fabric than I started this year with, and to only buy notions as needed for specific projects.  I shall also try to limit the number of new patterns I buy for myself this year. 

To avoid stressing myself out, I purposely am not doing a number of yards/pieces of fabric type pledge this year, since I have no idea what sort of wrenches being pregnant and having a newborn will continue to throw into my sewing. And I did also specify limiting patterns for myself, because I’m sure I’m going to want to start collecting a few kids’ patterns. I do have a few from things I’ve made for friends before, and whatever’s in my Burda magazines, but not a whole lot to pick from in my pre-existing stash. If Hobbit cooperates, we should see if we’re having a boy or a girl in less than two weeks, which I’m getting quite excited to find out!

And with that, I guess I’d better finish practicing my flute so I have a shot at actually cutting something out today. Yeah.

4 thoughts on “administrative details

  1. I can't say I won't get any new patterns, because my husband got me a subscription to Colette's Seamwork magazine for Christmas and that will get me a couple new PDFs a month for awhile. Right now, I'm thinking I might just wait until the summer, see what gets released in the first half of the year, and then treat myself to a few after the baby comes. (Sewaholic is already tempting me, because I actually don't have a basic fitted button-down pattern in my stash! And I'll probably want some button-downs this fall for nursing.)

    Like

Leave a Reply

