2014’s top 5 Highlights

Top 5 2014 #sewingtop5
Continuing with the lists… I was originally intending to lump the last 3 topics into one post, but this particular category ended up being pretty wordy. So I’ll spare you the mega-post.

The new category this year is “Highlights”, which is pretty much anything not sewing-related going on in our lives. I don’t know about you, but sometimes I find it hard to share life stuff on here, mostly for fear that I’ll bore people. So this seems like a pretty good way to keep it real! (Of course, I have actually talked about some of this stuff on here…oh well.)

IMG_28411. Travel. This was a really good year for that, and I’m really enjoying that I can say that I went fabric shopping in both New York and Paris this year! And there was also my girls’ geekout weekend in Atlanta for DragonCon. Aside from those three trips, Doug and I took a day trip down to Washington, D.C. for our first anniversary, which was also a lot of fun, and I also got to spend a day hanging out with some of my cousins down at the Delaware beaches. That’s been a tradition since I was a kid, and I’m glad I found some time to go down this year, even though I wasn’t able to stay overnight at all this time. (The picture is me and Doug at the Eiffel Tower, because why not?)

piano2. I got a piano this year! Both of my grandmothers have been trying to downsize their belongings recently, because it’s getting difficult for them to live on their own since both of my grandfathers passed away in 2013. So one of the big things going on in my family right now is that my parents are building a new house, and both of my grandmothers will be moving in with them in the spring. My mom’s mom had two pianos, so she asked me if I wanted one. She actually gave me the bigger one! So this is a baby grand that my great-grandfather originally purchased in 1928. It’s horrendously out of tune, which I’ll need to remedy at some point, but I like the family history behind it, and it’s been fun brushing up on my other instrument. I took piano lessons for about 7 years when I was a kid, but my parents didn’t want us overloaded with too many extracurriculars, so once I got to 7th grade, they asked me to choose between continuing with the piano or the flute, which I’d been playing for about 3 years by then, for my music lessons. Obviously, I picked the flute, though I still played the keyboard at home for fun when I could, and I also had to take one semester of basic piano as part of my music degree. (Which, since I already knew how to play scales and stuff, I basically spent learning the “Linus and Lucy” song from Charlie Brown specials. The professor didn’t care as long as we tested well.) The other thing connected to this is that I’m actually teaching one beginner piano student now at a local school, in addition to the flute. So in the long run, this could be a very good thing for my music teaching career.

3. In the category of non-sewing/knitting hobbies that I don’t talk about on here much, I am still scrapbooking. The Project Life system has turned out to be a really good fit for me–I can save photos without feeling like I have to make a layout for everything, and the pockets make it really easy to finish pages quickly. I still do “real” scrapbook pages from time to time, usually for bigger events. And I still use my older supplies, usually in the form of cutting down big pieces of paper to make cards when I don’t have a color I want. But aside from still needing to write in a few notes and paste down a few pictures, I’m basically done with everything from the wedding to our first anniversary. And I already have some stuff in an album for year 2 as well. That’s a nice feeling.

4. Meeting writers. As if I didn’t have enough to do to keep myself busy, I’ve always loved to read. And I got to meet two of my favorite living authors this year! A couple of friends and I went to see Brandon Sanderson at a quasi-local bookstore signing, and I briefly got to meet Jim Butcher when he was signing books at DragonCon. (I was wearing my Belle costume at the time, and when he saw me next in line, he sang one of the lines from her intro song: “Look there she goes, that girl is so peculiar…” So that’s a fun story.) One of the friends I went to Atlanta with is a published author herself, and she introduced us to another writer friend, Diana Peterfreund. I bought two of her books and read one on the plane on the way home from Atlanta. I have yet to read the second, but I quite enjoyed the one I read, so I’m sure I’ll get to it before too long.

5. Family stuff. Being able to say I’ve been married for a year was pretty exciting for me, since I wasn’t sure I’d ever get married in the first place. And, of course, what’s been mostly occupying my brain lately is being pregnant with our first child! (And all the nausea that goes along with it, which is sadly still going on. I thought the second trimester was supposed to be better!) I’m sure this will be occupying a LOT more of my attention for 2015.

What about you? Anything exciting going on for you this year?

7 thoughts on “2014’s top 5 Highlights

  1. What a lovely bunch of highlights! I'd forgotten that you are into scrapbooking, so it was nice to be reminded. Your family piano sounds wonderful – hope you can get it tuned soon! Next year is going to be such a big one for you two – but a great one, I'm sure!

    Like

  2. I'd been putting off the tuning, since we were seriously looking into moving to a different house that would be closer to everything we do. But it looks like that's not going to happen at this time, so I may have to consider taking care of that!

    Like

  3. Those are some lovely highlights, sounds like it was a good year for you! 🙂
    I received my grandfather's piano last year when my dad needed the space for his office, it's still out of tune and I never actually had any lessons but I love to have that bit of family history, too. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

