The slowest refashion I’ve ever made

I mentioned in my FESA post that I had finally finished a knitting project, and here it is!

RohelineThis is the Roheline cardigan, as modeled by the floor. I tried to get a good picture of it on me, but I was completely unable to avoid the canine photobombs today. Plus the sky is about the same color as this sweater right now, and that really doesn’t help on the lighting front! Oh well, you can see the drop stitch detail better this way anyway.

I call it the slowest refashion, because the yarn is actually recycled! Several years ago, I bought three sweaters from the thrift store, as a cheap way to experiment with how my skin would react to some different animal fibers/percentages of wool.

I ended up tossing the yarn from #2, since it unraveled into a gross tangle of cheap acrylic and just enough wool to annoy me. I still have the yarn from #3 and love the colors, but I’m leaning towards tossing that one as well, since I suspect that even a measly 8% wool is going to be too much for me. So this all came from sweater #1. It’s a mostly cotton/acrylic/viscose blend, with a little bit of rabbit hair. And I guess I’m ok with rabbit, because this one didn’t bother me to knit with at all!

Roheline sleeve issue
Making this was definitely a learning experience. I already knew how to do drop stitch, and had experimented quite unsuccessfully with short rows in a failed sweater attempt before. But I did finally learn how to do them properly on this. I had to learn Kitschener stitch for the underarms. I also taught myself how to do “magic loop” knitting so I could do both sleeves at the same time, which was mostly successful. I guess I still need to work on that, because I was unfortunately left with this obvious line down the sleeves where I was jumping between the two circulars and the stitches are a bit looser/sometimes look like I left holes. Is that normal? I did sort of try to block this when I finished, meaning I basically just dumped it in the sink, ran some water over it and squished it around, and let it dry. I know the yarns I can generally work with don’t block as nicely as wool-based ones, but I guess I should try actually washing this for real and letting it dry to see if I can smooth that out some more.

Roheline sleeveFor the most part, I knitted this straight off the pattern, since I frankly don’t really have the knowledge to add extra shaping to knitting yet. But I did add a little extra length to the sleeves, about an inch, which I think was a good move. It’s nice to have my wrists completely covered when it’s cold outside!

Roheline

And here’s my attempt to get it as an outfit photo. This was seriously the best out of the multiple tries. Crosby really wanted to model today, I guess! Considering how long it took me to knit this sweater (a full 15 months!), and current events in my life, I am SO glad that I decided to do a cardigan for my second sweater, so I can actually wear it this winter!

I’m in a weird place right now, wardrobe-wise. I’m pretty firmly in the camp of having to wear maternity stuff on my legs already, since the waistbands of everything else are just getting too uncomfortably tight. But I’m still able to fit into my regular tops very well, as long as I’m ok with the “I ate one too many cookies” look. (Just minus the fun of actually getting to eat the cookies, sadly, since I’m still waiting for that nausea to go away.) So this is maternity leggings (from Old Navy) and a maternity denim skirt (from Goodwill) with my regular purple Sadie tank. I’m slowly in the process of trying to assemble a wardrobe that will be as mix-and-match as possible, but I think that will have to be a separate post for later. As of now, I have a lot of holes to fill. But since this cardigan fits very nicely with the palette that’s emerging, at least I have one layer to work with.

9 thoughts on “The slowest refashion I’ve ever made

  1. i found bump bands (which would take no time at all to whip up on an overlocker) so useful at your stage of pregnancy!

    i love the idea of recycling yarn. have you tried malabrigo yarn? I am pretty sensitive to wool but it is 100% natural fibres and so soft – it doesn't irritate me at all.

    Like

  2. I did try a belly band a couple of times when I was at my retail job. I don't know if it was the particular one I got, which was just from Old Navy, but it was not working for me at all! The back waistband of my jeans kept slipping out while I was sitting at the register, and I had to keep running to the bathroom to fix it because my pants kept threatening to fall down. That's about the point where I gave up and started wearing sweatpants to that job, lol.

    I haven't tried the Malabrigo. Usually, I just avoid wool altogether, since I can tell as soon as I touch yarn that has it–my fingers start prickling and itching almost immediately. But I can see if they have any if I get out to the indie yarn store anytime soon. Unless it's 100% not wool, yarn is definitely not the sort of thing that I can risk buying online.

    Like

  3. Very cool how you refashioned the sweater! You turned it into something much cuter to wear!

    I keep forgetting to ask you if you've ever tried cashmere for a winter coat since cashmere is goat fur. Maybe you wouldn't be allergic to it like wool and you'd have a nice alternative fabric for winter wear. =)

    ~ Brooke

    Like

  4. It didn't really feel all that ambitious to me, lol. Other than how absolutely slow I am at knitting. But it was a nice cheap way to get a sweater ($3.50 for all that yarn, according to my Ravelry!) So if I found ugly sweaters with nice yarn at the thrift store, I'd consider doing this sort of thing again. After I get my stash down a little more, of course.

    Like

  5. I haven't really tried cashmere much– I do remember that an ex-boyfriend's family gave me a cashmere top for Christmas one year, and it did feel a little itchy to me. So I had no qualms about tossing it once we broke up. The yarn in sweater #3 up there does have some cashmere in it, I think, but it also does have a tiny percentage of wool. So that may not be the best way to judge.

    Like

  6. What a pretty cardy, congratulations on some excellent knitting.

    I would suggest acquiring a couple of pairs of pants a size up from your usual size at this stage of pregnancy (thrift store bargins obviously work just as well as new and I'm guessing you're not going to be making some at the moment). Not only are they useful on your waists way outwards, before you're well and truly into maternity wear, but you may well find them very useful after the birth as well, as bumps can take a little while to recede for those of us non film stars without personal chefs and trainers on hand.

    Like

  7. I love the remake! Do you know, I have never thought of unraveling sweaters for yarn? It's probably because I have similar itchiness issues, so I don't ever buy/make/own sweaters.

    And, oy, maternity clothes! I was pregnant prior to my sewing days, but was lucky that overalls were still in fashion then (well, as much as overalls are ever actually “in fashion”). I lived in those! Also, jersey knit maxi dresses were pretty awesome. I got so big in my third trimester that I couldn't imagine ever fitting into anything with a waist again! Goodluck, girl. You look gorgeous!

    Like

  8. Pingback: a very scrappy sea mammal | sew adagio

Leave a Reply

