a traveling companion bag

Last bit of Dragon-Con related sewing, I promise!

IMG_1575The one thing I finished up just before the Con that I didn’t say much about earlier was a new bag–I wanted something that I could use for both day trips and airplanes, and this one worked out beautifully. This is the Cooper bag from Colette Patterns, and I pretty much mashed together the messenger bag and backpack versions. My original thought was to make the backpack straps so they could zip into the back, but at the end of the day, it was far more simple to just make a removable messenger bag strap, so that’s what I did.

IMG_1578Under normal circumstances, I probably would have passed on solid grey and navy. But my planning revolved largely around this Spoonflower print of TARDIS (Tardises? Tardii? How do you even pluralize that, Whovians?) and Gallifreyan writing that Doug gave me last Christmas. Since it was the quilting cotton, I figured it would be best utilized as a bag lining. As for the outside, it’s leftover grey twill from my Thurlow pants, and some stiff poplin-esque fabric that my mom destashed on me. I didn’t manage to completely use up any of these fabrics, which particularly surprises me with the grey since it was already leftovers, but it’s a start.

And yeah, I stuck a TARDIS on the outside. Because I could. And also because since I have this habit of taking a little plastic TARDIS with me on trips and sticking it in random places, I figured it was fitting. 

The one non-pattern addition I made was the separating zipper–I figured if I was planning to carry this around for day trips and such, I’d feel more comfortable if I had more than a flap and a couple of magnetic snaps standing between me and potential pickpockets. My mom, who is quite experienced at making bags, was kind enough to sew this one along with me and help me figure out the best way to do the zipper, since she added one to hers as well.

IMG_1576And here’s the back! The only thing that somewhat annoys me about this bag is that the straps tend to flop out past the sides when I’m carrying this messenger-style, but it’s not annoying enough to undo the straps and try to come up with something different. I was also pleased to learn when carrying it around this past weekend that the webbing straps were surprisingly comfortable, though I’m not sure they would have been if I’d been wearing anything sleeveless.

All in all, I think this bag will be quite useful, and now that I know how it works, I’d definitely use the pattern again. Maybe Doug will actually let me sew one for him sometime?

6 thoughts on “a traveling companion bag

  1. A Tardis bag! I love the lining! It looks really useful, and the grey and blue go with practically everything. I should get around to making a bag/purse at some point, I've been thinking about it for over a year… 😉 Adding a zipper sounds like a smart idea!
    PS: Did you get my email about the blog hop? Would you like to participate?

    Like

  2. I actually didn't get the email, it went right to my spam folder! Boo! I'm adding you to my contacts right now so that doesn't happen again. But I just emailed you back.

    Like

Leave a Reply

