It’s Pantsapalooza time!

Pantsapalooza button

Hurrah! So here it is, day one, and I’m already changing up my plan. Not for the sewalong in general, don’t worry! I’m just rethinking my own personal approach.

My original plan, as stated, was to start off with a wearable muslin in the form of shorts. But I’ve been thinking about it, and I’ve come to the conclusion that maybe that isn’t the best approach. For one thing, now that it’s September, I have absolutely no way of predicting how long shorts will actually be wearable in my area. It could be anywhere from another 2-8 weeks, depending on what the wacky Mid-Atlantic weather does! Between plotting for this, that Darling Ranges dress I have queued, and the upcoming Doctor Who sewalong, my brain is rather firmly fixed on cooler-weather sewing, and shorts just seem…pointless. My other thought was that if I start with a muslin of the pants, it’ll be easier to work out the fit and the length all in one go. Plus the denim is a little heavier than any of my pants fabrics, which I’m sure will affect the fit. So my new plan is to use my mystery brown fabric as the wearable muslin, because since I got it for free, it’s not a huge loss if I totally mess it up.

I wonder if it’s possible to get the length so it’ll work with both my boots and my flats? Hmmm….
My pattern/fabric combo Anyway, here’s the fabrics that I’m going to be using. The brown on top is going to be the muslin fabric. I’m not sure what to call it, because looking at it more closely reminded me that it’s not a twill after all! It’s got an almost slubby linen-like weave to it in spots, so I’m really not sure. Below that is the navy lightweight denim, the grey and olive twills, and the charcoal lightweight denim.

I’m working on a helpful links post, which I’ll hopefully be able to get up in the next couple of days. In the meantime, when I’m not at work or rehearsal, I’m going to be busy tracing out this pattern so I can get started!

In case you missed it, I did get the html working on the button, so you can pick up the code here. I’m also probably going to update that first post with links to other posts.

Anything particular you want to see out of this, as far as post topics go? As I’ve said before, I’m no fitting expert, but I’ll be happy to help however I can!

2 thoughts on “It’s Pantsapalooza time!

  1. Yay for pantsapalooza! I'm pretty sure I won't manage to join, since I'm off on a two week holiday next week, but I'm hoping for trousersewing at some point this autumn/winter season, so until then, I'm happy to read about your progress!

    Like

Leave a Reply

