Swapping some stash!

As you know, I need to go through all of my belongings in preparation for moving, and it’s time that I unload some stash. My original plan was to just do a take-what-you-want giveaway on here, but then Modern Vintage Cupcakes decided to do a bigger swap, so I’m jumping in on that instead! It looks really fun, so if you want to join in, be sure to check it out!

Swap Your Stash

Several of these fabrics are leftovers from previous projects, and if that’s the case, I’ll post a link so you can get an idea of how they look in terms of a garment. Also, several of these have little pieces cut out of one corner, as I use swatches in the stash notebook that I keep in my purse. But it would only be about a square inch or so, so you’re not losing much yardage. (I’ll mark which ones.) All of these have been pre-washed and no one here smokes, but they come from a house with a dog and a cat, so if that’s an issue, you might want to wash it again. As far as shipping goes, I’m willing to do international for all but the denim, since that one is the heaviest. Because of that, I’m doing my best to include the metric measurements too. (Thank God for the internet and its easy conversion charts.)

Without further ado, here’s what’s up for grabs!

IMG_04641. A patchwork denim/brocade fabric. 2 yards, 56″ wide (1.8288 x 1.4224m). There’s also some extra at the end, cut in irregular rectangles. The brocade strips, which I believe are polyester, are 6″ wide, and the denim strips are 6.5″ wide. Originally used to make my laptop bag. but since my mom gave me this one while reducing her own stash, I had a lot left over and I’ve never been able to figure out what to do with it. (Reminder– this one is USA only. Sorry, international peeps.)

IMG_04702. A silky polyester print, 1 1/2 yards, 58″ wide (1.3716 x 1.4732 m). There’s a swatch-sized piece cut out of the corner. I bought this to line some red twill with thoughts of making the Beignet skirt, but I’ve since thrifted a red dress that is great for layering and now I’m probably going to make some kind of shorts or capris out of that twill instead, making this unnecessary, since red isn’t a color I wear often. I know it’s busy, but it could be a fun lining.

IMG_04713. A light green lining, probably polyester. 1 yard plus two ends by the selvedge with a chunk cut out of the middle, 48″ wide (approx. .9144 x 1.2192 m). I’m not sure why I have this, because I don’t really do pastels. I was having trouble getting the coloring right on this photo–it’s a little less mint, a little more yellowy. Maybe a celery green or something?

IMG_04654. Reserved for Anne! A lightweight silk, probably of the habotai variety. 2 yards, 44″ wide (1.8288 x 1.1176m). There’s a swatch-sized piece cut out of the corner. This was hand-dyed by me, and the color I intended it to be, based on the dye I used, is the same as this luscious brown silk velvet that I dyed at the same time. Instead, this is what happened. I’ve thought for years that I could just re-dye it, but haven’t gotten to it yet. Pink isn’t my thing, but if it’s yours, it could be a great lining or lightweight top. (It is fairly sheer, so keep that in mind.)

IMG_04695. A crinkle-textured polyester print, 2 1/2 yards, 44″ wide (2.286 x 1.1176m). There’s a swatch-sized piece cut out of the corner. I’ve had this one sitting around since sometime during my college years, never made the project I bought it for, and it’s definitely in the use-or-lose stage of its life. So I’ll see what I can come up with if no one wants it, but I figured I’d see if someone else might want it first. It’s hard to see the colors in this one, so it’s kind of an impressionistic paisley with dots of red, purple and a few shades of brown.

IMG_04736. A striped polyester silky print, 1 yard, 44″ wide (.9144 x 1.1176 m). There’s a swatch-sized piece cut out. The stripes run perpendicular to the selvedge. I bought this, along with several other fabrics, to make a patchwork-ish striped skirt that I’d seen in Threads magazine. I never got around to it, lost interest, and a few of those fabrics have since gotten used for other things.

IMG_04747. A glitter-embellished floral silky polyester print, 1 yard, 44″ wide (.9144 x 1.1176 m). There’s a swatch-sized piece cut out.  Bought for the same reasons as #6. Yes, those are cheetah spots you see in there, though I bought it more for the big flowers. Animal prints aren’t something I do very often either! (My apologies for not sending this to someone else in time for Jungle January. 😉

IMG_04758.Reserved for Juliet! A floral polyester shantung. 1 2/3 yard plus some good-sized scraps, 58″ wide (1.524 x 1.4732m). This is the leftovers from this dress— I’d originally planned to make this into a maxi-dress, but decided it just wouldn’t work with the drape of the fabric. The “good-sized scraps” are the bottom parts of those skirt pieces, since I cut it out as the maxi first, and then thought better of it and chopped it off to the shorter length before sewing. But they’re still large enough that you might be able to squeeze some smaller pattern pieces out of them. I still think this fabric is gorgeous, but I just can’t think of anything to do with it other than a second dress, and I don’t need two dresses of the same print, you know?

IMG_04729. An embroidered gold lightweight satin, polyester, 1 1/3 yard, 46″ wide (1.219 x 1.1684 m). The embroidery is done more or less on the bias, and does not reach all the way to the edges (about 2.5″ away on one side and 2″ away on the other). There is one minor flaw–when I was photographing this, I found a somewhat larger-than-pinhole-sized hole right next to one of the embroidered flowers. It felt like the edges had been sealed during manufacturing,  so I don’t think it will get bigger, but you may need to watch pattern placement if that’s an issue. This one is leftover from aaaaaall the way back to the early days of this blog, after making this dress. And again, I haven’t figured out what to do with the rest of it yet.

IMG_047810. A floral polyester brocade, 2 yards, 46″ wide (1.8288 x 1.1684m). There’s a swatch-sized piece cut out. I think this one was also given to me by my mom’s stashbusting once she decided that it was going to be all quilts all the time for her. And this is one of two floral-on-black brocades that I have and still haven’t figured out what to do with, so I thought I’d see if someone else can have fun with this one.

IMG_047611. A hunter green satin, just shy of 1 1/2 yards, 58″ wide (approx. 1.3716 x 1.4732 m), plus a big diagonal piece on one side. For those of you in the States who are familiar with Joann Fabrics, this is their Casa Satin. I’ve actually used this fabric twice now–for my masters’ degree recital dress, and also for my Licorice dress–and still had this much left over. I must have done a terrible job of estimating fabric usage for that first dress!

IMG_047712. Reserved for Kat! A quilting-weight cotton or cotton blend, about 3 yards, 44″ wide (2.7432 x 1.1176 m), plus an extra rectangle on one end. This one was given to me by a friend who was destashing some craft supplies, so I’m not entirely sure of the fiber content. I used it to line a couple of baby bibs, but that’s it. This would be cute for kid stuff, but since I have no kids (and very few young kids in my life, period) I really have no use for this.

IMG_046813. An embroidered linen (or linen-looking) fabric, about .85 yard, 52″ wide (.777 x 1.3208m), The embroidery starts 1.5″-3.75″ from the selvedge, depending on where in the pattern it is.  The embroidery is in shades of olive green, brown, turquoise, red and orange. This one was used to make my “Cha-cha” skirt. And it’s super-cute, but I’m not sure what to do with the rest of it unless it’s a bag, and a girl only needs so many bags.

IMG_046714. Polyester beige organza, 1.3 yd, 62″ wide (1.889 x 1.575m), plus a little ireegular bit on the end. This one was very hard to photograph, but it’s just a neutral beige with a shimmer effect on it. (Slightly darker than pale woman of Anglo-Celtic-German decent, if that helps?) This one was for my muslin of my wedding dress, of course, and I seriously overestimated how much I needed.

IMG_046615. Reserved for Imogheena! White allover lace, 1.8 yd, 64″ wide, including the wider part of the scallops. (About 1.646 x 1.626 m.) I photographed this one on top of the pink silk so the pattern could be seen better. The scallops are about 2″ wide, and are on both sides. This was also for the wedding dress muslin. And again, I seriously overestimated. I don’t really do lace in my day-to-day life, you know?

So that’s it! Like I said, if you’re interested in joining in and swapping out some of your less-loved fabric for something new, be sure to check out the rules/guidelines.  And if you’re interested in taking some of this off of my hands, let me know!

3 thoughts on “Swapping some stash!

Leave a Reply

