Weird.

The good news: aside from the waistband, which I still have NO idea how to draft even after watching the Craftsy video due to having to make a dart in the muslin, therefore throwing off the grainline in anything I draft unless I just seam it at the center back, the jeans pattern is done. And I know it’s hard to see, but I think the front turned out pretty good.

The bad news: The back is another story. I just keep looking at it and saying “whaaaaaaaaaaaat?”

I mean, look at that back crotch seam. After all that muslining (because you know that’s a verb), this is the curve I ended up with in my attempt to fit my also-curvy backside without making it too tight. Plus trying to fix my usual gapiosis issues, and altering the seamlines to attempt to make them look like a straight line going down the side of my leg.

This is, undoubtedly, the weirdest-looking pants pattern piece I have seen in my entire life. Does that mean it’s crazy enough to just possibly work? Stay tuned…

2 thoughts on “Weird.

  1. Hahahahaha, this made me laugh so hard! I have the same gapiosis problem. Clearly, “swayback” is not the issue; I just have a “black girl booty”! 😄 Brava for your persistence, and I really hope the pattern works.

    Like

  2. *g* Well done for staying with it, and I hope all your hard work payed off! Who cares how pattern pieces look like, as long as the resulting garment fits, right? 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

