I’ll blog about sewing again soon, I promise.

I just need to actually have something to show. I did at least start quilting the fabric for the bag my friend is paying me to make. (Two pieces down, one to go.) And I did go to Joann’s today to take advantage of their Columbus Day sale and pick up some underlining for my raincoat/some buttons for the teal skirt. (Nothing on hand at home. I checked.)

But in the meantime, I did finish up two of my FESA knitting projects over the weekend!

#1, the Counterpoint hat.

An easy finish, as all I had left to do was put the brim in and stitch the hat closed at the top of the ribbing.

The brim is pretty subtle, so I had to take a profile shot so you can actually see it. And I like the quasi-tweedy but still really colorful effect of the yarn. Even though it makes me want to walk around with a magnifying glass and say things like, “Elementary, my dear Watson.”

The other thing I finished was my cable slippers. Not the most flattering shot ever, as they look like deformed socks this way, but this is what you get at 12:30 in the morning in someone else’s residence. I’m glad these are only meant to be lightweight slippers, since they feel kind of like they’re going to fall off when I wear them. It probably would have helped if I’d stitched them up more, like the originals were, but I was literally sewing the first one of these around my foot and this was as far as I could stretch it. Mental note to self: Whenever I attempt socks, I might need to add a few stitches in that just-below-my-toe area to compensate for the extra width there.

Since I had both of these finished by Saturday night, I spent our tv-watching time on Sunday working on that scarf I’m making from the hat leftovers. It’s currently about 15″ long. The nice thing is that it’s complicated enough of a pattern that I still have to look at the pattern for pretty much every single line, but not so complicated that I couldn’t watch tv or chat with my friends.

I did think about picking up my Cadence sweater, but I looked at the directions and the very next row starts the chart. Which I’m still not entirely sure I read right before, and I think that’s something I’m going to have to hole up in my room away from people and give full concentration to. Which means this is a great time to sidetrack myself from it completely by sewing, right?

6 thoughts on “I’ll blog about sewing again soon, I promise.

  1. Cool! I like them both. You're right, the hat is a teeny bit deerstalker-ish, but that's not a bad thing. πŸ™‚
    Slippers are one thing I definitely prefer crochet for; crochet doesn't stretch as much and they feel more sturdy.

    Like

  2. Hi Becky! Thanks for your comment! I'm glad you like my handmade closet feature. πŸ™‚ I just added a page with blogger. In the new interface, there is a link in the sidebar below posts… then it's just like writing a post, very easy. πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

