What’s on the needles…

I started this one last week, and it’s going along fairly quickly! This is the first of a pair of slippers (second pattern down on this page). I’m knitting two yarns together, which is the first time I’ve tried this–the Lion Brand Recycled Cotton in Seagrass,  and Caron Spa in Green Sheen. I’m  hoping that I’ll get the best of both worlds–the cotton seems more durable, but the bamboo is much softer. I like the mottled effect that I’m getting from doing the two together–the cotton was already two-tone, and the bamboo adds a nice brighter shade to the green.

A close-up of the cables. This is my first time doing it, and it’s not nearly as scary as I thought it would be! Granted, this is probably a really easy cable, because it’s the same pattern repeating over and over on a flat rectangle, and only four stitches affected every six rows. So I’m thinking this was probably an ideal project to try it out on.

Maybe, just maybe, I can finish the first slipper (at least the knitting, not the sewing) by the end of the long weekend….tomorrow’s plans are another movie marathon/hangout/yarncrafting day with my best friend, so I’ll get quite a bit of time to work on it!

2 thoughts on “What’s on the needles…

Leave a Reply

