quiet time

I feel like it’s been pretty quiet on here lately. The truth is, there’s not really that much for me to report this week. I did get the bag for my laptop cut out, and I’ve done some preparatory hand-sewing, which I’ll explain later. For the last two days, I intended to start sewing it, but things keep getting in the way–yesterday, it took me so long to get through some necessary chores that it was kind of late to start by the time I got done, and today my brother and sis-in-law ended up coming over because the water at their place wasn’t working.

Today, I ended up knitting instead, since aside from grilling up a delicious dinner, my hang-out time with my siblings pretty much consisted of a mini-marathon of a tv series, and my sis was crocheting as we watched anyway. I actually made some pretty decent progress on the tank top. The only problem is, I ended up having to rip out all but three rows of what I knit today–my first time making a split for a neckline/using a stitch holder, and while I followed the pattern directions, the number of stitches called for ended up making the pattern end at a weird place right next to the neckline. So I had to rip out a couple of inches to take it back to the beginning of that so I could pick up one more stitch and give it a bit more stability. *sigh* Kind of frustrating, but I guess it’s all part of the learning process, right? And since it has an odd number of stitches, this will make it a bit more centered (originally, the eventual right side had 3 stitches more than the left part, which is what I was working on.

Things will continue to stay quiet around here for a bit. I’m going on a brief vacation at the beginning of the week, and between packing, having to work tomorrow, and various prior social/musical/church-related activities, I really doubt I’m going to get any crafting in unless it’s just re-knitting a row or two. Hopefully later next week, I’ll have time to pick something up again– I miss sewing!

3 thoughts on “quiet time

  1. Anoriell says:

    Have a great time on your vacation!

    The sewing will be there when you get back. As will the knitting. They are very patient, I assure you. ;o)

    Like

  2. I read somewhere (a long time ago, so I don't remember where) that keeping a crafting (cooking/baking etc.) blog was harder than a diary blog, because first you have to create something and then you can blog about. With a diary blog it's just post away!

    The sewing will be there when you get back, as will I, I like your blog. Enjoy your vacation!

    Like

Leave a Reply

