Taking care of business…

First of all, since there were requests and posts with pictures are more fun, me wearing recently made stuff in real life! These are all from Saturday–me wearing my Waffle Hat and Constellation Gloves while a friend and I were enjoying the view by the Chesapeake Bay…

….and the recently refashioned shirt, while at my birthday dinner with five of my closest friends and my sister-in-law. (They took me to a creperie, and it was delicious!)

This was the best I could do for a full-length shot–after dinner, we went back to one of the girls’ apartments for dessert, and then goofed off a bit with a Wii dancing game. Thus the super-grainy quality of the pic–it was screencapped from the video one of the other girls took on her phone. It turned out to be a really fun day overall, and thanks for all the birthday well-wishes!

Second order of business: I’ve been going back and forth on whether to do Me-Made-March this year. I finally decided that I’ll regret it if I miss out, since it was fun to participate in the project back in September, so here’s my rather last-minute pledge:

“I, Becky, sign up as a participant of Me-Made-March ’11. I will endeavor to wear one handmade piece of clothing each day for the duration of March 2011. In addition, I will endeavor to add handmade accessories as often as possible.”

(Stepping it up from September by trying to actually wear handmade clothes each day–there were a few days then that I only made it because of a necklace.) 

Finally, to answer a few recent comments:
From this post: Christina, the beret is black. Carolyn, I do know the word beanie! Though I’m not sure if that’s how we’d term this sort of hat. And Liz/Anoriell, not a bad idea…. I’d have to figure out what to do about stitch counting, since so far what I’ve been doing is using an app on my iPhone to track that, and it’s worked really well for me so far. But I can only do one project at a time on that. (Of course, it was a free app…since it seems I’m going to stick with knitting this time, I may check out the paid stitch counter apps to see if they’ll support multiple projects.)

So far, I have cast on the beret, but not the wrap. We’ll see how far I get on the hat before I need to be ready for that weekend hangout thing.

From this post: Sarah— perhaps. That’s the main problem with my addiction to crazy print fabrics–they’re so distinctive that I never know what to do with the leftovers! Don’t want two shirts that look the same, you know? Though, Anoriell, your idea about a knitting accessory bag type thing could work– I actually am currently working on a case for some circular needles, since I got that multipack of them off of Etsy, but I’m using the leftovers from this instead since there’s more of them and I wasn’t sure I’d have enough of this fabric to support that many pockets. But I may have to whip up some stitch markers, since the beret is going to need multiples of those, and will need somewhere to put those. So far, I’ve been using random toggle clasps that didn’t get put away after my pre-craft show jewelry-making binge. (Yarn storage won’t be an issue– my mom’s actually making me a nice bag to haul that stuff around in, since she’s been on a bag-making kick.)

2 thoughts on “Taking care of business…

  1. Glad you had a wonderful birthday! the dancing party looked like fun!
    That is definitely called a beanie around here, and I wondered if you might not have heard of it because our friends from the US hadn't, thus my explanation…

    Like

Leave a Reply

