What I’ve been up to….

First of all, wow– I have to say I’m kind of overwhelmed by the response to the post about the Pendrell blouse. I think that may actually be the most comments I’ve ever gotten on one post! And since the overwhelming consensus was to keep the ruffles as is, the ruffles will stay.

Secondly, I still haven’t quite settled on what to do with the rest of the yarn from the Constellation gloves. Though yes, cheesepirate, I have found Ravelry–that’s actually where I found that handwarmer pattern in the first place! And Hana, I’m not sure there would be enough for socks. Unless maybe it’s the kind that don’t cover your ankles. I haven’t started another knitting project yet, either–need to check and see if I have access to the right size needles before I start on that beret.

I’ve gotten lace to extend the lining hem for the LBD, and gotten the outer skirt measured for the length, though not pinned up at all beyond the one pin in it to mark the length. I’ve also gotten a knit shirt cut out, and was originally planning on sewing it together over the weekend, but ended up not touching it.

What I have been doing for the majority of the last several days is running with the inspiration I had to finally get my Etsy shop rolling, so I can do something about all of that jewelry I made for the craft fair that’s been sitting here in my room ever since. It’s something I’ve been meaning to do for, oh, the last month and a half. Admittedly, the LBD kind of took over my entire non-working, non-social life and kept me from doing a single thing about it. But since I’m not working a whole lot right now due to my retail job being non-winter seasonal, I’ve been taking advantage of the extra time. So my store policies are written. I’ve made a complete guess at shipping prices, which may have to be tweaked if I have opportunity to test that theory. I spent hours and hours on Saturday photographing every single piece of jewelry I made for that craft fair that I didn’t sell. And I’ve figured out my packaging, though I still have a lot of it to go. So I have been sewing. But it’s been several of these:

They’re not all that size. Some, which I mean to use for the earrings that don’t accompany necklaces, are smaller. These were actually a bit small for most of the necklace cards I’ve had made up so far. So I’ll have to choose a few necklaces to fit these, or use these for bracelets (once I figure out how to actually package them). It’s been a lot of trial and error. But it’s good, because other than the ball of cotton yarn I got to make drawstrings out of, the packing materials are all things I had on hand–breaking into my big stash of white cardstock pulled out of scrapbook page dividers, and decorating them with (mostly) scraps of paper that I wouldn’t be able to use for much otherwise. But I’m especially proud of the bags, because now I finally have a solution to a problem I’ve been thinking about for years: what to do with my muslins. Because I’ve never liked just chopping up large pieces of fabric only to throw them away at the end. It seems very wasteful and not very eco-friendly. There is still a little bit of waste involved in this, because I can’t entirely cut rectangles out of irregular-shaped pieces, especially when I have to occasionally avoid Sharpie marks. But I’ve been amazed at how many of these little bags I’ve been able to get so far out of one clothing muslin (in this case, the LBD one), and I’m still not even done chopping it up yet!

If I counted remotely close to right, I still have a ton of these I need to make in order to just package up what I have made so far.. Fortunately, they whip up pretty quickly, and I’ve been able to get quite a few done. Though I may need to take a break sometime this week and whip out that shirt, just so I don’t start feeling too much like a one-woman sweatshop! That, and because I’ve also been pondering signing up for Me-Made-March–kind of like the Self-Stitched September thing I did, though obviously a different season. And a more challenging one–this past September at least was pretty summery for most of the time, but March around here can range anywhere from the 30s to the 70s, often going from one extreme to the other within a matter of days, with the occasional freak snowstorm and an almost guaranteed chance of high winds and torrential rains at some point. Ah, life in the mid-Atlantic. So it would be interesting to see how I fare with that sort of challenge, but I definitely would need to get a couple of things knocked off my to-sew list! At least this and the jacket I’d like to make before it gets warm. So that will need a bit of thought.

To backtrack for a moment, the good thing was that I did finally manage to get a couple of pieces up in the shop today. I’m not going to talk about that here very often, because I felt it would be more professional to keep that separate from this blog (especially since this blog focuses more on my sewing projects than anything else, which is completely unrelated), and therefore made a separate blog just for that. I don’t want this blog to become a constant advertisement, anyway. But figured it wouldn’t hurt to let people know it now exists, right? If you want to check out what I’ve got in there so far, you can either check it out at the shop’s blog or Etsy. Not a lot, only 2 things as of this post, but I’m planning/hoping to make a nice dent in adding those things over the next several weeks. And that is all that I will say about that here for the moment.

And one of these days, hopefully sooner rather than later, I will have clothes to show here again!

One thought on “What I’ve been up to….

Leave a Reply

