Catching up, 4/4: The Honest Scrap Award

I am a bad, bad blogger. Catherine G was kind enough to give me the “Honest Scrap Award” back in June, and between the computer problems and all of the recent real life craziness, I’m just now getting to it. Sorry for the delay, Catherine, and thank you for the award!
The rules are as follows:

I must thank the person who gave me the award and list their blog and link it.
I must list 10 honest things about myself.
I must put a copy of The Honest Scrap Logo on my blog.
I must select at least 7 other worthy bloggers & list their links.
I must notify the bloggers of the award and hopefully they will follow the above three requirements also.

All right, let’s be honest:

  1. It’s probably no secret, given my career field, but I am extremely addicted to music. Including finding new music. I currently have over 8000 songs on my iPod, and it’s an ever-growing collection (mainly due to my eMusic subscription, in which I get 30 tracks a month that I have to use or lose). I’m doing a blogging project right now (on my LiveJournal, since that’s where I keep in touch with some RL friends) where I’m trying to listen through the contents of the iPod in its entirety. I started on August 1. I got through the last of the albums that begin with A yesterday. (No jobs where I can listen to my iPod while I work, so it’s taking me a little longer than it otherwise would.)
  2. The dorkiest thing I ever sewed: a vest from a vintage 70s pattern made out of snakeskin-printed vinyl. Both of which were free, having belonged to my mother. In my defense, I was a teenager at the time, and making an effort to create my own style and not just wear all the same Abercrombie crap that many of my classmates were drawn to.
  3. I often wish that blogs were around back when I was a teenager, so I could have documented sewing projects like that. Somewhere back in grad school, I did realize that I should be doing that, and started a really basic scrapbook for it– just pictures, basic info like what pattern I used and when it was completed and any other comments I wanted to make, and a fabric sample if I still had one. Something about the system wasn’t working (too bulky or something) so I had to pull off most of the pictures to start over. I know I did start making a very, very basic digital scrapbook in Photoshop to start over, but that’s unfinished as well. I’m kind of torn between trying to get caught up on that and get it all printed out so I can have a tangible copy, or just scanning the pics from the original scrapbook (film camera) and documenting them in here just so I can get it done.
  4. I read really fast–when I have the time to sit down and do it, I can read thick books in a day. (Worked for Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, anyway.)
  5. Sad to say, I’m at the point where I dislike a lot more about being single than I like. Since all of my efforts to change that status have failed miserably, I really need to work on learning to like it again.
  6. Routine is tough for me. That’s why I loathed the thought of a job where I was doing the same thing 9-5 every day. (And why I have a hard time enjoying highly repetitive crafts, like knitting, crochet and needlework.) At the same time, I have a hard time sometimes with the day-to-day reality of trying to juggle an ever-changing schedule with lesson cancellations and reschedulings/other part-time work/fitting in time with friends when my schedule is so different from theirs/eating meals at regular times with my unfortunate tendency to get shaky when I don’t eat for awhile/finding craft and exercise time/finding time to read/still doing the things I have to do like laundry and cleaning. I wonder if I’ll ever find a balance.
  7. On a related note to #6, I think part of the problem is that I enjoy doing too wide a variety of things. And I can’t bring myself to quit doing things I enjoy.
  8. You wouldn’t know it from how much I tend to ramble in these posts, but I’m actually fairly quiet. At least within social settings, unless it’s people I’m comfortable with.
  9. I get really frustrated with situations where I have to wait on other people to figure things out, like my current attempts to figure out my fall teaching schedule, because I’m too much of a planner for my own good.
  10. On a completely random note, I’m one of those people who likes to throw movie quotes into everyday conversation.

And the Honest Scrap Award goes to:

6. Salinda’s Blog Spot
7. PB Designs Reading and Crochet Blog

Ok, I think that catches me up for now! Until I finish the current 2 projects, anyway…

Now to finish what I need to around here so I can do some sewing between my flute lessons! I’m going to miss my low-key Wednesdays once school starts and I’m back up to 3 jobs again.

And pardon me for a moment while I squeal… Project Runway starts up again tomorrow!!!

One thought on “Catching up, 4/4: The Honest Scrap Award

Leave a Reply

