Friday Favorites, Episode 25

Wow, I can’t believe I’ve stuck with this long enough to get to 25!

On with the show…

I’m trying to do something a little different this time, and post more things that I like that aren’t tutorials. So on that note, the first item today is a post from Confessions of a Craft Addict. The author makes these absolutely adorable, colorful little girl’s clothes, and in this post she describes her process of how she goes about choosing patterns and colors to go together. (Did I mention she’s also great at mixing prints? And her model is just too cute!)

My Wardrobe Refashion picks of the week: I liked this long green skirt that got turned into a shorter, ribbon-trimmed one. There was also a great boring, logoed T-shirt that got covered over with a really cute owl applique, and a simple but stylish corduroy jacket that got upgraded with a ruffled collar.

BurdaStyle recently hosted a contest to make a cocktail variation of their Malissa dress pattern. I didn’t participate in this minichallenge, partially due to lack of time and partially because I just didn’t like this pattern. It’s the sort of cut that would only be flattering on me if I was very, very pregnant. And maybe not even then. But I’ve been enjoying seeing the variations that have been popping up here and there. As far as blogs go, Mirella’s was a fun one to read about, especially with all the lace detail! But the voting is up now, and all the entries are here. I’m going to have to think about this…. as of now, my favorites are #s 13 (a coral knit-looking one with a cute tie at the neck), 19 (a green one with a criss-cross back), 24 (a plum one with a wide belt), and of course 26 (Mirella’s). Figures, I’d pick all ones that cinch it in…

Not exactly a tutorial, but Recycled Crafts had a post about how steel wool can sharpen pins. I’m kind of tempted to make myself another pincushion now!

And I couldn’t let the week pass without a couple of tutes… first off, there was instructions for a hot pad made from scraps at My Byrd House (which I found through Whip Up). And another one for a tea towel at Sew Take A Hike (love that blog name!) … can’t remember where I found the link originally, sorry!

And now, off to the dunge…er, basement. I’m in the middle of cutting out a new sewing project and just stopped for dinner. After I get some dessert, that is…

2 thoughts on “Friday Favorites, Episode 25

  1. I would look like a munchkin in that Burda pattern. The last thing I need with my chubby body and ‘healthy’ top is gathers like that, LOL! But I love how Mirella pulled it together with a waistline. It really does make it look nicer.

    Like

Leave a Reply

