Arrrrrrrrrgh!

I have a feeling this is going to turn out to be one of those projects that will make me wish I just bought clothes at the store like everyone else. In other words, the peacoat is NOT going well so far. I still have the basted-together lining on my dummy, and measured the seams very, very carefully, then proceeded to use that measurement on the outer sections. So far, I’ve gotten the front pieces and the back pieces sewn together, but not to each other. And I can tell just by looking at it that it’s not going to fit– the back shoulders, in particular, barely reach to the end of my shoulders, and that’s before adding sleeves. So I’m going to have to rip the entire thing out and start over. The complication (of course) is that the front seams have been clipped already (though, thankfully, I refrained from trimming them just in case something like this did happen, and I haven’t clipped the back seams yet.) So I can only take the seam out maybe a quarter-inch at most. I just hope that’s going to be enough to do the trick. So of course now I’m all frustrated with it. Did I mention I have two rows of topstitching on both front seams and the back center seam to take out? So I think I know what I’m doing for every single tv show I watch for the rest of the week. 😛

Leave a Reply

